YouTube users now have the option to share videos they upload on Google+ by selecting that option directly from the upload interface. Once uploaded the videos are automatically showcased in a “videos” tab on the users Google+ profile.
In order to use the new service users must like their Google+ and YouTube accounts under their real name. The new process is very similar to what is already used for Picassa photos sharing.
For Google+ users who do not want to use the service the tab can be hidden.
After opting in to the service the users videos then read “YouTube” and when clicked users will be sent to YouTube rather than watching the embed on Google+, a sly way for YouTube and Google to share multiple pageviews per video engagement.
Google developer Dom Carr writes:
“For those of you who are aspiring musicians, pundits, comedians, or brands, we’ve now made it even easier for you to connect with your fan base.”
Videos shared from other services will still appear on Google+ but will be separated from you “YouTube” tab to avoid user confusion.
The Google+ and YouTube integration is already underway and is expected to be completed in the next few days.