If you have every accepted a friends request and you weren’t sure if you actually knew the person you could be setting yourself up to have your account hacked. Facebook security protocols, while ever improving still leave a rather large loophole in the company’s infrastructure that hackers are implementing in their favor.
Here’s how the scam works. A Facebook user accepts friends requests from three people they “may have known as some time” at which point the hacker, who started all three accounts attempts to reset your password.
The hacker accomplishes this goal by telling Facebook that they no longer have access to the email account or mobile phone associated with the account (as shown in the screen grab above), they then incorrectly answer the security question you have entered at which point Facebook will ask them to have three friends help them verify your account by sending them a special code. read more
Another Monday, another Facebook Scam. Users of the social network are being urged to avoid clicking on any links associated with Twilight: Breaking Dawn, links that claim to be a game for the popular book/movie series, which is in fact being used to grab users personal data.
After clicking on the link users are invited to play the game, users of Facebook HTTPS are even asked to switch their account over to a “regular connection.” Once connected the game auto “Likes” so it can spread to the users wall and infect their friends accounts.
After accepting the game users are asked to give the developer certain permissions and fill out a personal questionnaire. If you have went so far as to provide that personal information you have ignored all of the alarms that should have sounded in your head by this point. read more