May 19, 2011
In a report released by the Wall Street Journal it has been revealed that users are only required to log into their Facebook account once per month in order to be tracked, while the same thing goes for Twitter tracking via Tweet buttons.
That “once a month” login requirement stands even if a browser is closed or the users computer is turned off and then back on, simply leave your Facebook or Twitter accounts logged in and the tracking will continue.
While both Twitter and Facebook insist they are not attempting to use user data for nefarious purposes they do hold onto tracking information for a short period. According to Twitter their tracking data is removed “quickly” while Facebook keeps your browsing data for 90 days. read more