Have you ever noticed how the Facebook Photo Memories box which shows pictures from your friends past almost always has a knack for popping up pictures of people you use to be in a relationship with? After several Facebook groups popped up protesting the “ex” feature Facebook has decided to fix the issue.
Facebook has announced that they are now using a new algorithm to determine which pictures will be shown.
The algorithm how excludes any people who you have been “in a relationship” with via your Facebook status. Keep in mind, the pictures of those people need to be tagged with their name, otherwise group photos may still show them to you.
Facebook Photos Project Manager Sam Odio said of the new feature:
“I’d like to let you know that we’re listening to your feedback. The photo memories product no longer shows tagged photos of your friends if you were previously in a relationship with them.”
Odio didn’t say if the exclude feature could be turned off, which I would consider an important feature since I know many people who are still friendly with their ex’s.
So much for the “we can still be friends” line at the end of a relationship if you’re both on Facebook.