Sharing photos is a great way to show friends what you’ve been up to, then again sometimes you might not want that unflattering photo you have taken to stick around forever. That’s where Snapchat comes into play. Now available for the Google Android OS, the app allows users to choose when photos they have sent will be deleted.
Users simply take a photo on their mobile device, set a time between one and 10 seconds for the photo to delete and then send the picture.
After the recipient opens the photo they can view it for the allotted time before it is destroyed.
Snapchat has been a hit among iOS users for a while now and was expected to be announced at the Dive Into Mobile conference in New York City before Hurricane Sandy canceled that event.?
At this time Snapchat is delivering more than 20 million “snaps” per day, mostly among a younger audience. ?Since launching last year more than one billion snaps have been sent and received.
While the app is popular it has also been called out for featuring many “sexting” photos sent by teens who want to keep their privacy.